Staff & Board

Meet Our Staff


Zehra Rizvi

Interim Executive Director | Email

Zehra Rizvi has been actively involved in non-profits for 20 years working for organizations like Global Affairs Canada, Plan International, Canadian Red Cross, Canadian Cooperative Association and the University of Saskatchewan. She obtained a BA in International Studies from the University of Saskatchewan and an MSc in Integrated Water Resource Management from McGill University.  Currently, she serves on the Saskatoon Open Door Society board, an organization dedicated to welcoming immigrants and refugees in Saskatoon; she serves as Vice-chair and Chair of the Governance Committee. She is committed to gender equality, education for girls and the protection of children.


Ali Shayan Khan

Finance Officer | Email

Ali has over four years of experience in working with accounting systems and enterprise efficiency. Throughout his professional career, He has worked with cross-functional teams to develop financial strategies, preparing detailed financial reporting and cash flows for profit and non-profit organization. He also has experience in implementing innovative tech solutions which helped the organization to increase business productivity, financial transparency and profitability.


Denise MacDonald

Member Services and Network Coordinator | Email

Denise MacDonald is SCIC’s Member Services and Outreach Coordinator and has been with the organization since 2000. She is responsible for SCIC’s Member Services including capacity-building and networking opportunities for SCIC members. She organizes SCIC’s public engagement events to promote collaboration and movement building, and supports efforts for global ecological, economic and social justice.  

Denise holds a Master’s Degree from the University of Regina and a BA Hons. in International Development and Political Science from the University of Toronto. She gathers her strength from the incredibly brave southern partners and human rights and earth defenders she has met through her work at SCIC and through her travels, and has seen first-hand the positive impact of global solidarity. 


Amy Bosche 

Education Program Coordinator | Email

Amy works with other educators throughout the province to bring Global Citizenship Curriculum and teachings into schools across the province.

Amy holds a Bachelor of Education and worked as a Special Education Teacher in British Columbia and Saskatchewan. She moved over to the non-profit sector 10 years ago after volunteering and working casually for a number of non-profit organizations during her time as a teacher. 

Amy has a passion for social justice work and believes as an educator, it is imperative that educators, teachers, and students are discussing issues around social justice and working together to create a more just and sustainable world.


Tatenda Mhaka

Youth Program Coordinator | Email

Tatenda’s work with SCIC centers on youth leadership and empowerment programming. She is a humanitarian at heart with an incurable advocacy for gender equality and fighting global poverty. She has been dedicated to the field of international development for some time contributing to the successful fulfillment of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Tatenda is equipped with a Master’s Degree in Intercultural and International Communication from Royal Roads University in Victoria, British Columbia, including a BA Degree in International Development Studies and Sociology from Saint Mary’s University in Halifax, Nova Scotia. 

Tatenda believes in the African Philosophy of ‘Ubuntu,’ – I am because you are – which speaks to the interconnectedness of humanity. To quote from Nelson Mandela, together we can “start changing our world for the better daily, no matter how small the action.”



2021/2022 Board of Directors

  • Saadia Burki | Board President
  • Susana (Sue) Deranger | Co-Vice President
  • Victoria Flores | Co-Vice President
  • Mahjouba Fadel | Treasurer
  • Terri Sleeva | Secretary
  • Jones Enebeli 
  • Clarine Mukendi  
  • Logan Huard 
  • Lori Johb 
  • Amanda Noubarian 
  • Selma Kiwwira
  • Patrick Chassé


For Current Board Members | Board Portal Login