Member Stories

2016 Global Citizen Award Honorees

SCIC is pleased to announce the 26th Annual Global Citizen Award Winners. Presented annually during International Development Week, the Global Citizen Award recognizes Saskatchewan people who make amazing contributions to international development, cooperation, peace and justice.

Join us February 9th in Regina and February 11th in Saskatoon, as we celebrate the contributions of these amazing Saskatchewan people and movements working for a more just and sustainable world. Gala details can be found on the International Development Week page.

Check out the SCIC blog for an inspiring Q&A with all of this year's winners.

Trudi Gunia was co-founder of two peace groups while living in Manitoba, and was involved with Development and Peace for many years. After a trip to the new revolutionary Cuba in 1963 Trudi became totally engrossed and active in the movements for justice and peace, the beginning of her journey as a life-long activist.

Bio and interview with Trudi

Klaus Gruber and his wife Margie have been advocates for refugees for over 35 years in Saskatoon. He is the refugee coordinator for the Anglican Diocese of Saskatoon, a volunteer position he has held for more than 20 years.

Bio and interview with Klaus

Dr. Cindy Hanson has devoted her professional and academic interest to helping support global activism, writing extensively to further learning in this important area. Cindy's work spans 4 continents and 20 countries. Her ongoing contributions include volunteer work where she has been engaged at the community level, devoting countless hours to helping advance the needs of community organizations and the people they represent.

Bio and interview with Cindy

Armella Sonntag has been involved in international cooperation for over 30 years. She joined the staff of Development and Peace in 2009, after being involved with the organization for 16 years as an active member.

Bio and interview with Armella

Click here for more information on these awards, and for a complete list of winners since 1990.